Takin’ it Easy

After 4 days of feeling totally under the weather, I finally felt about 80% myself yesterday, so I decided to head back to the gym. Since I am still coughing quite a bit (especially on exertion), I wrote a workout that was designed around taking it easy and not triggering a coughing fit. While it felt great to be back in the gym, I can tell that I am still operating at about half speed. I made it through the whole workout, but I was completely drained by the end. I even ended up going to bed around 9:30 last night – which, for a night owl like me, is CRAZY early.

It is so frustrating to be sick. I feel like a have taken several steps backwards from all of the progress that I have made. I know that I will be able to get back to where I was relatively quickly once I am feeling 100% again, but it’s hard! I am trying not to let my motivation take a nose dive from this set-back. I am trying to remember that fitness is a journey, not a destination and that, while I’m at a different place today, I’m still on that journey.

Anyway, here’s yesterday’s workout. It was definitely a lighter one!

Warm-up/Cardio

15-min incline (4.0+, varying) walk on treadmill

Strength

  • Stability Ball Leg Curls
  • Stability Ball Bulgarian Split Squats
  • Stability Ball Crunches
  • Bridges
  • Lunges
  • Toe Raises
  • Plie Squats
  • Barbell Squats
  • Barbell Good Mornings

Well, time to be productive. More tonight. Make it a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

