Gym and Wine

So, taking vacation RIGHT after the holidays might not have been the BEST plan. I have had so many not-full work weeks that I’m not going to know what to do with myself when I actually work every day! Plus, I am totally still in “it’s not routine time…it’s FUN time” mode… which makes gym time (as enjoyable as it is) twice as difficult.

So, a note on that… My workouts are long. I design them that way because I truly enjoy my time at the gym. It is kinda like a sanctuary to me (which I have called it on multiple occasions). It is a place that I can go and visit with random people (which as an extrovert, I enjoy!), or I can blast my music on my iPod and shut the world out for an hour or two. As a healthcare manager, I am surrounded by people all day, every day and often times, I am talking to only the angry and frustrated ones. Sometimes I need some time to be away from that side of my life and in a totally different world. And to be honest, in some ways I live for that part of my day. So, I design my workouts to take enough time that I can relish in those moments.

However, I know that I (and most everyone in the WORLD!) don’t always have an hour and a half to devote to working out. Part of the beauty of my workout designs is that the HIIT, Tabata, Cardio, or strength sessions could be done completely independently of one another as a complete workout all to themselves. I usually devote my HIIT/Tabata at least partially to whatever muscle group I am focusing on for the day, so you can get a great workout by doing just that. Or, if you aren’t feeling the cardio, the strength training makes for a great workout on its own as well!

Without further ado… here’s today’s workout!

HIIT (0:50/0:10)

  1. Mtn Climbers
  2. Jumping Jacks / Box Jumps
  3. Squat Jumps
  4. Star V-ups (Just like V-ups, but instead of going back down to the mat, keep abdominals flexed and extend arms overhead and legs out into a star shape.)
  5. Sumo Squat Jumps
  6. 3-way Froggers
  7. Scissor Legs (Lie flat on your back and raise legs to ~45* angle. Cross left leg of right and then reverse in a scissor pattern.)
  8. Split Squat Jumps
  9. Plank Jacks
  10. Burpees
  • Stability all Leg Curls
  • Dumbbell Step Ups
  • Dumbbell Side Lunges
  •                 Superset with weighted Plie Squats
  • Barbell Good Mornings
  • Barbell Lunges
  •                 Barbell Toe Raises
  • Leg Press
  • Leg Curls
  • Leg Extensions
  • Walking Lunge w/ Twist (25lb Plate)

Tonight I also attended a wine tasting at one of the favorite spots, House Wine. The theme was “Italy Under $20,” and the rep spent a few moments explaining the grapes and growing region of each wine. A couple favorites from the tasting were: Casale del Giglio Petit Verdot ($20) and Tacco Barocco Negroamaro ($13). The Petit Verdot packed a punch, but waas well-balanced enough to be drinkable. The Negroamaro was lighter with a lot of bold spice and almost sweet bitterness. If you are looking for a new wine to sip, check them out! 

Leave a Reply

