And the adventure begins!

I made it! Given the wild weather over most of the Midwest over the past few days, I am somewhat surprised, but definitely thrilled! The first flight was great – I had a whole row to myself, the crew was great ;), and I got to watch the sunrise from the plane window. The second flight left a little more to be desired. The plane was super small and my seat neighbor was…not. It was also a bit of a bumpy ride, so I was pleased to see this view and the announcement that we were making our final decent into Great Falls. I must’ve brought the snow with me from Ohio because, as you can see, there wasn’t much on the ground when I flew in. It started snowing almost immediately when I walked out of the airport and since then we have gotten about 6 inches or so. Image

ImageOne of the biggest challenges when traveling is healthy eating along the way. Here is one of the travelling snacks I packed to hold me over on the plane. I also crammed my bag with an assortment of Lara Bars, Fruit Chia Bars, and dried fruit and nuts – some of my favorite grab and go healthy snacks.

*On the note of healthy…I feel like that is such a broad word! The definition of a health meal is so strongly contingent upon your beliefs and education on what foods are healthy to eat and which ones are not. That is both culturally and personally influenced. For me, I try to avoid most processed foods (if I can’t read the ingredients, I try to avoid it more often than not) and practice a plant-based diet. I have been a vegetarian (technically pescetarian) for about 8 years now. More on my diet choices later!

 

So, I know a lot of times when traveling it is more challenging to get to a gym. If you are a member at a large chain gym (like LA Fitness), it is likely that your membership with be valid other places. For those of us who are not chain-gym members, there’s a little more homework involved. Many gyms will allow you to get a short-term pass for a small fee, which is what I was able to take advantage of here in Montana. There is also the option of using a “trial membership” which most gyms offer as an incentive to get you in the door. You may have to deal with a couple of sales calls afterwards, but it will allow you to get a traveling workout in! When all else fails, BenderFitness, Blogilates, and Fitnessista all have excellent workout options that can be done at home. I will be sure to post a few of those in the future too! 

Here is the workout from today. To be honest, this was a hard one for me — especially the HIIT intervals. I don’t know if it is the mountain air, being worn out from travelling, or just an off day, but I definitely had a harder time with this one today than I normally would. The strength training portion was awesome, though. My shoulders are already starting to feel sore!

HIIT (0:50 work, 0:10 rest)

  1. Mtn climber
  2. Chair Row
  3. 3-Way Frogger
  4. Bicycle w/ crunch
  5. Split Squat Jumps
  6. Hollow Rock
  7. Burpees
  8. Front kick hops (r)
  9. Front kick hops (l)
  10. Plank reaches w/ Push up
  • Arnold-style shoulder Presses
  • Bent over Rear Delt Flyes
  • Behind the head Dumbbell tricep extension (Bend elbow towards opposite shoulder. For the last set, lean at about a 45 degree angle to the opposite side of the hand you are holding the weight in and do the same motion. This BURNSSSS!)
  • Plank Shoulder Press/Row  x10
  • Barbell front raises
  • Barbell rear delt rows
  • Barbell skull crushers
  • Shoulder down dog Push-ups  x8 (From downward dog position, bend your elbows and move the crown of your head towards the floor while looking back towards your toes. You should really feel this one in your shoulders and upper back!)
  • Face Pulls
  • Tricep overhead extension
  • Leg lifts
  • Lateral Raises
  • Standing shoulder presses to exhaustion (lighter weight. I used 7.5lb dumbbells.)

 

I promise I will post more Montana pictures soon! Have a great workout and make it an excellent day!

One thought on “And the adventure begins!

Leave a Reply

