Behold…the Wonders of Tabata!

Over the weekend, I was busy searching for something new – and super quick! – to add to my fitness routine. Between chaos from the holidays, family visiting, and preparing for my trip to Montana (I leave in 4 days! Yikes!), I have been crazy busy! In all the chaos, I keep reminding myself to take time for myself each day and make sure to get a workout in. It has taken me most of my life to really and truly understand how important it is to take daily time for myself, so I am definitely not backing down on it now!

With all the chaos, though, I haven’t had as much time to design my own workouts and fitness routines, so I have turned to the wonderful world of the Blogisphere to do so for me! On Friday, I was in a super huge rush to leave work, get a workout in, and make it downtown to meet up with some out-of-town visitors. I wanted to get in a good workout, do so quickly, and was also craving a new twist on some of my usual routines. I have gotten in the habit of doing exactly 15-21 minutes of HIIT, followed by 35-45 minutes of strength training, and while I include a lot of variety in the exercises that I do, I’ve learned that the more you keep your body guessing, the better your results, so it was about time for a change.

Over the past year or so I have heard a lot about Tabata but didn’t really have a clue what it was, and since one of my new-found favorites, Gina of Fitnessista posted this Tabata-style workout, I decided I MUSTTT try it!Xmas crumble

Tabata is similar to HIIT in that it incorporates short bursts of super-high energy, balls-to-the-wall (so to speak) periods of a particular exercise, followed by a brief period of rest. The biggest difference I’ve noticed so far is that the Tabata-style workout intervals tend to be shorter, and the total set is generally a little shorter, allowing you to repeat or change exercises in each set, as well as pair the cardio bursts with strength training. The rest period in Tabata (by definition) is also shorter than the period of work. In this particular workout, I noticed an interesting phenomenon — though the overall workout time ended up being longer than my typical HIIT session (about 24 minutes, just of the cardio portions!), I actually worked harder through the entire session! Since the intervals were so much shorter, I think it was a mental game of “Ok, ten more seconds, you can do it! Push it!” which made me push harder the entire time! I highly recommend incorporating some Tabata into your workout regimen – I will definitely be doing more if it in my workouts moving forward!

I did modify the Tabata session Gina posted a little bit to better match my fitness goals. Here’s my breakdown.

Tabata 1: 20sec, 10 sec rest, 8 rounds

  • Body weight squats
  • Squat jumps

Strength Set (3x)

  • Bicep Curls
  • Lunge w Overhead Press (R)
  • Bent-over Row
  • Lunge w Tricep extension

Tabata 2: 20sec, 10sec rest, 8 rounds

  • High Knees
  • Burpees
  • Mountain Climbers
  • Jumping lunges

Strength Set 2 (3x)

  • Pushups x10
  • Tricep Dips x20
  • (R) Leg Bridge Pulse x15
  • (L) Leg Bridge Pulse x15

Tabata 3: 20 sec, 10sec rest, 8 rounds

  • Jump Overs
  • Out-out, In-ins

Core Burn Finish

  • 50-second plank
  • 50 Bicycle Crunches
  • 25 Leg Lifts
  • 25 V-ups

Make it a great Monday! More later.

One thought on “Behold…the Wonders of Tabata!

Leave a Reply

