Dragging after Christmas…

done tree

Christmas is over…and I am completely feeling the let-down from the end of all the excitement. Well, that and I am completely exhausted from more nights of staying up late and getting up early than of getting a half-way decent amount of sleep!

Does anyone else have a really hard time getting back into the groove of normal life after something you have been looking forward to for a long time? I remember when I was a little kid and we would go to visit my cousins and aunts and uncles, I wouldn’t be myself for a few days after coming home from the trip. I would cry and lock myself in my room. While I am not *quite* as much of a drama queen about it now, I definitely notice that I feel ‘down’ after a big event or occasion. It usually takes me a couple of days to get back to normal.

For me, these kind of days are the hardest to make myself work out, but also the workouts that are most important. As someone who has struggled off and on with depression, I know how easy it is to let myself get stuck in that rut of feeling down. Depression is a place that I never, ever want to go again, and I have found that a well-balanced diet and regular exercise are the best tools possible to control my own mental health.

Since I was so tired yesterday, I decided to focus my workout a little more heavily on weight lifting and strength training, and shorten my cardio session. Everyone is a little different, but I love weight training, and I find it much easier to still push myself lifting when I am exhausted than to do so in running or cardio. If I try to do interval training when I am too worn out, I usually just end up frustrated! It is always important to listen to your body – sometimes you may even be better off taking a day to completely rest up and rejuvenate than trying to push yourself into a workout that you are too exhausted for. (I was planning to box this morning, but decided to skip it for that exact reason!)

Here is the workout I did yesterday afternoon! It incorporates a little cardio burst after each lifting interval to keep the heart rate up. The HIIT portion is only 10-minutes, and was a lot lighter than normal, so push yourself!

Cardio (0:50 exercise, 0:10 rest)

  1. Box Jumps
  2. Medicine ball Russian Twists
  3. Lunge kicks (L)
  4. Lunge kicks (R)
  5. Medicine ball push ups
  6. Skaters
  7. V-ups
  8. Medicine ball plie hops
  9. Bicycle Crunches (continuous)
  10. 3-Way Frogger

Strength

  • Fitness Ball Leg Curls
  • Weighted Glute Bridges
  • Jumping Lunges
  •                 0:30rest, 0:30 plank
  • Seated Leg Curls
  • Seated Leg Press
  • Jump Squats
  •                 0:30rest, 0:30 spider plank
  • Sumo Squats on Smith machine
  • Calf Raises on Smith Machine
  • Single Leg Deadlifts
  •                 0:30rest, 0:30 reverse plank
  • Barbell Good Mornings
  • Barbell Squats
  • BOSU Jump-Over Squats
  •                 0:30rest, 0:30 plank
One thought on “Dragging after Christmas…

Leave a Reply

