What a day(s)!!!

Yesterday, I decided to take advantage of a Groupon purchase I made a few months ago and finally visited Title Boxing Club! I braved the wee hours of the morning and hit the 6AM boxing class. It was a challenging and exhilarating workout – I honestly didn’t expect to be pushed so hard! More on that later (I am working on a full review of the experience). After boxing, I went to work, and then hit the gym for my normal lifting session (minus the cardio work, since I spent an hour on that in the morning). By the end of the day, I was completely exhausted and decided to head to bed instead of getting my workout posted.

After spending the morning hitting bags and doing fist push-ups, I thought it was appropriate to continue to work my upper body, so I focused on Chest/Triceps. Here is my strength training session from yesterday night: (PS, this one is also a WaterCooler Wellness original!!!)

Strength Training

  • Incline barbell chest press
  • Incline dumbbell flyes
  • Shoulder tap planks
  • Flat bench Press
  • Skull Crushers
  • Bench-balance V-crunches
  • Behind the head single arm Tricep extensions (Focus on bringing the weight down towards your opposite shoulder. Lock your elbow in place and focus on moving only the forearm.)
  • Cable Cross overs (high position)
  • Tricep push-downs
  • Rolling ball push-ups (Place one hand on the floor, one on a medicine ball. Do one push-up. Then, while in plank, roll the ball to the opposite hand and do another push-up.)

After two days in a row of upper body, plus an intense boxing session, my upper body was completely dead. I decided to work lower body today. I designed a workout that I intended to be challenging, but a little lower scale then normal. Well, perhaps I misjudged how exhausted I really am because this one was definitely a challenge!

Cardio

Run 1 mile. (I kept telling myself to take it easy, but once I got on the treadmill and got going, I ended up doing 2 miles with a little incline walking after the first. I couldn’t help it! I added a couple of new songs to the ol’ iPod today, and they cued up right as I was about to call it quits on the treadmill and got me all pumped up again! Never underestimate the value of a good playlist for your workouts!)

Strength

  • Side lunges with Dumbbell
  • Medicine Ball Squats
  • Dumbbell Step-ups (tall box)
  •                Plie Hops w/ Medicine Ball
  • Walking lunges
  • Leg Extensions
  • Leg Press Machine
  •                 Split Squat Jumps
  • BOSU Squats w/ Dumbbells
  • BOSU Deadlifts
  • BOSU Jump Over side squats (One foot will be on the BOSU, one on the ground to start. Come down into a squat. As you come up, hop over the BOSU, switching which foot is on the BOSU and which foot is on the ground. These were super challenging!)
  •                 Tree Pops (These are like a cardio version of single leg dead lifts, but without weights. When you bring your leg back in, instead of stopping at standing straight up, bring knee up towards chest and hop on standing leg. This really works every part of your lower body and core as you work to maintain balance and stability!)

Ok, I promise to tell you all about my Title Boxing trip this weekend, but I am beyond exhausted tonight! At least next week is a short one  with the Christmas holiday. (Can you believe it is Christmas time already?!)

Leave a Reply

