Long time, No blog

I’m sorry for the lag in postings. If I am honest, I have been having  a hard time justifying writing…well, anything. Sometimes I wonder…who am I to write about health, wellness, and fitness? Who am I to guide your fitness journey? I haven’t even gotten all figured out for MYSELF, let alone for someone else! Which, I guess, is what ultimately convinced me to post again. The truth is, I don’t have it all figured out. I am on my own fitness journey as I encourage each of you to be. I have found my rhythm, a workout pattern that suits my life and, little by little is helping me to make some progress towards my fitness goals. While I can’t promise to be perfect in that, or that my journey will ultimately match yours, I can promise to share what I know and the things that I learn along the way.

So, with that in mind, I am changing things up a little bit. Moving forward, I am going to post my workouts, and the sources I use to create them each day. I have been building up to much of this workout routine for months (remember, fitness is a JOURNEY!), so remember to modify the exercises to meet your level and goals as necessary. If you want modifications, additions, or descriptions of the exercises, don’t hesitate to ask me!

So, to start things off, there are a couple of fellow bloggers whose sites I visit regularly. They provide a lot of the inspiration for the workouts that I do each day!

Cassey Ho of http://www.blogilates.com

Anyone who has ever talked to me about fitness has probably heard about Cassey Ho and Pop Pilates/Blogilates. I might be just a little bit obsessed with this blog! Cassey posts hundreds of workouts FOR FREE on YouTube and her blog. They range from 3-minute song challenges (from top pop songs) to full 20-minute pilates-style routines. She also posts a calendar each month (you just have to sign up for the free newsletter to get the password) that pairs her videos into hour-long workout routines. Cassey’s energy is absolutely infectious. I highly recommend checking her out! Additionally, adding pilates into whatever your preferred workout routine may be can really enhance your ability to use proper body mechanics in other exercises, as it helps to improve core strength and stability, the source of correct posture for all movement – particularly at the gym!

Lauren Gleisberg of  http://www.fitnessbarbielaurengleisberg.com/

This is an excellent blog for starting a weight training regimen! Lauren is adorable and provides great tips and workouts that are relatively easy to complete in under an hour. Most of her workouts are geared towards the gym, but she also posts a few home workout routines. She also has a ‘clean eating’ style meal plan that you can purchase on her site for $3/week. She offers a lot of variety, and adorable enthusiasm!

Melissa Bender of http://www.benderfitness.com/

Melissa’s blog is a fountain of information and workout routines! I love her workouts for my cardio HIIT portion of my daily workout, but she has all kinds of awesome info on her blog! From recipes, to yoga, to strength training, and killer HIIT routines, there really is something for everyone on her site. She posts videos of each of her routines, and makes sure to explain the correct form for each exercise. As an added bonus, and in true WaterCoolerWellness fashion, most of her workouts can be completed in 15-20 minutes.

 

Many of the workout routines that I do on a daily basis are some combination of exercises/focus areas/inspiration from a variety of these 3 sources, so I encourage you to check them out! I am also always exploring the blog-isphere for other sources of inspiration, so if you have any, be sure to send them my way!

Ok, so this was supposed to be a quick post, and now I have been up for an extra hour working on it! Ooops! Guess that’s what happens when it has been forever since I have written anything on here! Anyway, here is my workout from today!

Cardio Kick-off:

Walk 3min – Run 8min (comfortable pace…I started at 6.2mph and sped up a little as I ran) – Walk 3min – Run 5min – Walk 3min.

Ab Blaster (modified from benderfitness.com):

0:45 max reps, 0:10 rest

  • Mountain Climbers
  • V-Ups
  • Russian Twists
  • Down Dog – Plank (goes back and forth between positions every 5sec)
  • Starfish abs (imagine a ‘jumping jack,’ only lying on the ground with arms and legs off the mat)
  • Hip twist plank
  • Side plank dip (right)
  • Side plank dip (left)
  • Bicycle crunches
  • Leg Lifts
  • Scissors
  • Plank in-in, out-outs

Weight Training (x3)

  • Incline dumbbell chest press
  • Incline dumbbell flyes
  • Dumbbell shoulder press (Arnold style)
  • Dumbbell chest press
  • Bent over rear delt raises
  • Rolling ball push-ups
  • Chest press machine
One thought on “Long time, No blog

Leave a Reply

